Friday, 4 January 2008

Seven Deadly Sins

For the human mankind, there is the saying that there are seven deadly sins which we need to forbid. These deadly sins used to be called capital vices or cardinal sins. These are

  1. Lust: intense or unrestrained sexual craving
  2. Gluttony: eating too soon, eating too expensively, eating too much, eating too eagerly, eating too daintily,eating too fervently
  3. Greed: an excessive desire to acquire or possess more than what one needs or deserves, especially with respect to material wealth
  4. Sloth: aversion to work or exertion; laziness; indolence!
  5. Wrath: forceful, often vindictive anger
  6. Envy: jealosy
Similiarly the seven holiest works are:
  1. Chastity : purity
  2. Temperance : self-controlled
  3. Charity : donation
  4. Diligence : hard working
  5. Forgiveness : to forgive
  6. Kindness : kind to others
  7. Humility : humbleness etc

No comments: